Absences adversely affect the progress that pupils make. One of the most important things you can do for your child is to make sure that he or she attends school regularly and on time. It is only the Principal who can authorise any absence from school.

Please read the School Policy on attendance and term time absence.

We are only able to authorise time off School in EXCEPTIONAL, once-in-a-lifetime circumstances. The Principal cannot authorise a planned absence retrospectively. It is unlikely that an absence will be granted if a pupil’s attendance is currently below 97% or if the absence would bring them below this figure. Permission will not be given if the reason is because of cost e.g. it is cheaper to get flights during term time.

The following are indicative of acceptable reasons for requesting an absence:

  • for a close family funeral.
  • taking part in a significant event involving education, sport, music or other performance.

Unauthorised absence will form part of a student’s record. It is often difficult for pupils to catch up with work as they miss out on the interaction with the teacher and other students.

To apply for a term time absence please click here. Please note that we may need to ask for additional evidence to support any request and therefore require that they are made at least 10 working days in advance of the planned absence.

WARNING

A fixed penalty notice may be issued by the Local Authority if you choose to take a unauthorised term time holiday. Each parent may be liable to a penalty of £60 if paid within 21 days and £120 if paid within 28 days. Where relevant this will apply to each child.

In cases of aggravated non attendance (where parents have already received a penalty notice) this will be recorded on the National Police Computer and will be declared on any DBS checks carried out by employers or other agencies

2019/20

TERM 1College Opens Thursday 29 August 2019
College Closes Friday 18 October 2019
TERM 2College Opens Monday 4 November 2019
College Closes Friday 20 December 2019
TERM 3College Opens Monday 6 January 2020
College Closes Friday 14 February 2020
TERM 4College Opens Monday 24 February 2020
College Closes Friday 3 April 2020
Good Friday Bank Holiday – Friday 10 April 2020
Easter Monday Bank Holiday – Monday 13 April 2020
TERM 5College Opens Monday 20 April 2020
May Bank Holiday Friday 8 May 2020
College Closes Friday 22 May 2020
TERM 6College Opens Monday 1 June 2020
College Closes Thursday 9 July 2020

2020/21

TERM 1College Opens Wednesday 26 August 2020
Summer Bank Holiday – Monday 31 August 2020
College Closes Friday 16 October 2020
TERM 2College Opens Monday 2 November 2020
College Closes Friday 18 December 2020
TERM 3College Opens Monday 4 January 2021
College Closes Friday 12 February 2021
TERM 4College Opens Monday 22 February 2021
College Closes Thursday 1 April 2021
Good Friday Bank Holiday – Friday 2 April 2021
Easter Monday Bank Holiday – Monday 5 April 2021
TERM 5College Opens Monday 19 April 2021
May Bank Holiday Monday 3 May 2021
College Closes Friday 28 May 2021
TERM 6College Opens Monday 7 June 2021
College Closes Friday 9 July 2021